When you walk through our doors, a building of rare beauty is revealed. Wood Memorial Library, an architectural gem in a tranquil historic setting, is filled with the serenity of an unhurried past. This treasure is situated on South Windsor's old Main Street, first an Indian trail, then a busy colonial thoroughfare, today a quiet reminder of Connecticut's heritage lined with beautiful historic homes of every era.
In 1926 William Wood chose Hartford architect William Marchant to design a Library as a memorial to his parents, Dr. William Wood and Mary Ellsworth Wood. From its dedication in 1928 until the early 70s, Wood served as the Town's Public Library. In 1971, the Friends of Wood Memorial Library incorporated to oversee its operation as a privately funded library. Now, with the help of part-time staff members and a corps of dedicated volunteers, the library serves the public throughout the year. To honor Will Wood's wish to provide a library as well as an environment for cultural, historical and scientific interests to flourish, a wide variety of activities are available.