The library opened for business on November 1, 1923 by The Woman’s Club and was originally housed in the high school library. In early 1930 it was housed in City Hall, which was then a part of the Masonic building. In 1936 a portion of the Woman’s Club House was dedicated to the library and it remained there until about 1969 when it was then moved to 450 W. Maley.
On March 1, 1970 the library was dedicated to Elsie S. Hogan for her many years of service. She was one of the original members of the Woman’s Club who operated the library from 1961 to 1967.
On February 12, 1996 the remodeled Willcox Market building at 207 W. Maley became the new Elsie S. Hogan Community Library. Today the library boasts a fully automated catalog and check-in/checkout system as a member of the Cochise County Library District.