Information on:

The Morgan Library And Museum

225 Madison Avenue at 36th Street
212-685-0008

Mission:

The mission of The Morgan Library & Museum is to preserve, build, study, present, and interpret a collection of extraordinary quality, in order to stimulate enjoyment, excite the imagination, advance learning, and nurture creativity.

A global institution focused on the European and American traditions, the Morgan houses one of the world's foremost collections of manuscripts, rare books, music, drawings, and ancient and other works of art. These holdings, which represent the legacy of Pierpont Morgan and numerous later benefactors, comprise a unique and dynamic record of civilization, as well as an incomparable repository of ideas and of the creative process.

Vision:

The Morgan Library & Museum celebrates creativity and the imagination, with the conviction that meaningful engagement with literature, music, history, and art enriches lives, opens minds, and deepens understanding.



Reviews

Jake Garvey

Rating:
Monday, July 30, 2018
The place was beautiful, and a little off the beaten track of NYC tourism, so it was quiet. There is so much history in that building, and the books are absolutely stunning. We walked around and looked at everything. What an incredible time! I will absolutely go back next time I'm in NYC

Ruby Hwong

Rating:
Friday, July 27, 2018
Beautiful library and art museum. There's a vault that contains priceless books. JP Morgan collected artifacts and jewelry from different ancient civilizations that were on display. $20/adult, children 12 & under - free. There's a cute cafe inside a glass room and a gift shop.

Prachi Dalal

Rating:
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
The original library area has a lot of acquired European art and small sculptures. The library has a huge collection of rare books and artifacts that are worth a visit. It began with Morgan's initial collection but they've grown it a lot over the years. The majority of the collection is stored in environment controlled vaults underneath the museum from which they keep renewing the display. They also have interesting exhibitions and lectures which you can check on their calendar before visiting. It may be smaller than the Met or other museums but it's worth a visit for locals or visitors who have a long stay. It's $20 entry fee for adults and cheaper for students. They also have a free evening. Make sure to grab the free audio guide after you purchase your tickets. There's also a cafe inside with good reviews.

Irma M. Prishker

Rating:
Monday, June 4, 2018
As one of the few Gilded Age buildings that are still standing in New York City, the Morgan Library is a beautiful escape to an era in American history that should not be forgotten. If you're a bookworm who enjoys the smell of old books and daydreams about having a "Beauty and the Beast moment" (when Belle walks into the glorious library)... you should check this place out. Worth it!!! Oh and admission is free on Fridays from 7-9pm.

Jen Fick

Rating:
Friday, June 22, 2018
A lesser-known gem among NYC museums. It's small, so if you devote time to all the exhibits and do the guided tour of the library it takes maybe 2 hours. The tour is well worth it - you get the history of the building, JP Morgan himself, and his/the library's collection of antiquities and manuscripts. I've been 3 times and would happily go again when there are new exhibits.

The Morgan Library And Museum is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at The Morgan Library And Museum

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Friday, Aug 17, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Saturday, Aug 18, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Sunday, Aug 19, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Highlights From the James Ivory Collection

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Thursday, Aug 23, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Friday, Aug 24, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Saturday, Aug 25, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Sunday, Aug 26, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Highlights From the James Ivory Collection

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Thursday, Aug 30, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Friday, Aug 31, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Saturday, Sep 1, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Sunday, Sep 2, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Tuesday, Sep 4, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Wednesday, Sep 5, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Thursday, Sep 6, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Friday, Sep 7, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Sep 7, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Saturday, Sep 8, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Sep 8, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Sunday, Sep 9, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Sep 9, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Highlights From the James Ivory Collection

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Thursday, Sep 13, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Sep 13, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Friday, Sep 14, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Sep 14, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Saturday, Sep 15, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Sep 15, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition: The Magic of Handwriting

Sunday, Sep 16, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Sep 16, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Highlights From the James Ivory Collection

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Sep 20, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Sep 21, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Sep 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Sep 23, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Highlights From the James Ivory Collection

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Sep 27, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Sep 28, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Sep 29, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Sep 30, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Oct 2, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Oct 3, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Oct 4, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Oct 5, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Oct 6, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Oct 7, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Oct 9, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Highlights From the James Ivory Collection

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Oct 11, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Oct 12, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Oct 13, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Oct 14, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Highlights From the James Ivory Collection

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Oct 18, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Oct 19, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Oct 20, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Oct 21, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Highlights From the James Ivory Collection

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Oct 25, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Oct 26, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Oct 27, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Oct 28, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Nov 1, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Nov 2, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Nov 3, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Nov 4, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Nov 6, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Nov 7, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Nov 8, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Nov 9, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Nov 10, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Nov 11, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Nov 15, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Nov 16, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Nov 17, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Nov 18, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Nov 22, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Nov 23, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Nov 24, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Nov 25, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Nov 29, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Nov 30, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Dec 1, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Dec 2, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Dec 4, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Dec 5, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Dec 6, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Dec 7, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Dec 8, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Dec 9, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Dec 13, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Dec 14, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Dec 15, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Dec 16, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Dec 20, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Dec 21, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Dec 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Dec 23, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Dec 27, 2018 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Dec 28, 2018 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Dec 29, 2018 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Dec 30, 2018 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Tuesday, Jan 1, 2019 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Wednesday, Jan 2, 2019 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Thursday, Jan 3, 2019 from 10:30am to 5:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Friday, Jan 4, 2019 from 10:30am to 9:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Saturday, Jan 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »

Exhibition - Pontormo: Miraculous Encounters

Sunday, Jan 6, 2019 from 11:00am to 6:00pm
New York, NY
Read More »