The first South Lake Tahoe branch of the county library was opened in 1948 in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Wakeman and was moved after a few months to the home of Mr. and Mrs. Glenn Amundson. After many subsequent moves in search of more adequate housing, a lot on Highway 50 was made available with building funds donated by a recently disbanded community club.
On March 5, 1959 the library opened with few furnishings, books or shelving. A Friends of the Library was formed to raise funds and the community rallied behind the effort. A grant requiring matching funds was obtained and the campaign was successfully completed prior to the deadline.
In 1978 preliminary plans were begun for a new branch library in South Lake Tahoe next to the county campground. After obtaining grant funding from the federal government the new library was completed and dedicated on April 16, 1983. The 12,000 square foot facility on Rufus Allen Boulevard has the unique good fortune to overlook beautiful Lake Tahoe out of its north windows. It is a popular place for locals and tourists alike.