The mission of the Columbia County Library is to help the people of our community in their pursuits of information and education , as well as vocational and recreational endeavors, by providing current materials, services, and programs. Our inviting public libraries are the cornerstone of our diverse communities where all people, regardless of age, race, or socio-economic circumstances can experience personal enrichment and literary growth.
The History of Columbia County Library is as long and varied as the rich heritage of the county it is named for.
The Sorosis Club of Magnolia had a dream of providing a place where young and old alike could explore the many worlds of books. In 1929 that dream was realized when the Magnolia City Library opened its' doors for the first time. That first library was located on Calhoun Street across the street from the Columbia County Jail.
After thirteen years Magnolia City Library closed its' doors and reopened as The Columbia County Library. Six years later a one-mill library tax was passed in Columbia County as well as statewide. And in 1951 Librarian Florene Jordan, along with the Library Board of Trustees, began the process of forming a library region with the purpose of bringing library services to neighboring counties. The first county to join with Columbia was Lafayette County. Together they formed the Columbia-Lafayette Regional Library. In 1952 Bradley, Lewisville and Stamps Libraries opened. Taylor Library was opened in 1958 and Emerson opened the following year. Calhoun County joined in 1962 and columbia-Lafayette-Ouachita-Calhoun Regional Library came into being in 1965 when Ouachita County joined the system. The name was later shortened to The CLOC Regional Library.
In 1959 the library board and other citizens started a campaign to purchase the old Post Office building when it was replaced with a new building. The Library Board received the Deed to the property May 26, 1967. Plans were made to raise local money for remodeling the building into a modern library facility. W.R. Rice, president of First National Bank, headed the campaign, and locally raised funds were matched with LSCA funds distributed by the Arkansas Library Commission. The Post Office Building was converted to a modern library facility in 1968. Located at 220 East Main Street, the building is still home to the Library.